When Mama Needs That Hug

Standard
Pic Credit: Pixabay

She may be 16, but this morning, all I wanted to do was make her sit on my lap and hug her.

She made a face that said, ‘What now?’, but she obliged.

It was me – I was the one who needed that hug & cuddle…. so I gave her one instead.

One of those days….

It was the most comfortable position I had sat in all week! With an almost 5’8 athletic teenage girl wrapped in my arms.

I needed it…

By evening, the littlest one was surprised to see me at home when he got back from school.

He tossed his school bag aside and covered my face with 12yo baby child kisses and said, ‘Mama, Can I give you a hug?’

I pushed back the laptop and gathered his soft cuddly body into my arms.

Then the 20yo called out for me…

To show me something on his laptop,

but I had to ‘wait for the right time’, he said, ‘Don’t look now!!’

For the video to start… and he wanted me to look at just the right start of the clip…

‘Mama, do you remember this??’

I peered into his laptop screen at some robot-like being sitting…

I couldn’t remember…so he reminded me with a sheepish / shy smile that reminded me of when he was 9 or 10…

‘It was that game you preordered for me in Dubai’, he said, ‘from Virgin Megastore… the other one you got from the US…’ he went on…

I couldn’t remember… but I smiled..

Edit: I later called him & asked him to give me a hug…

He smiled and said, ‘What’s wrong with you??!’

And enveloped me in his arms..

Not a small boy anymore…

A tall, muscular, broad-backed handsome child of mine…

Felt good…

The memories of their childhood… that I was a part of…

The memories of my motherhood…. that they are all a part of.

My heart is melting …

One of those days…

No, I am not PMS-ing (in the real sense) hahah… must be an anti-climax hormone flush…

First published on my Facebook on 10th February 2023

About Luvena Rangel

Human being... Woman... Unapologetically Me.... Limited Edition.... 99% angel and I love what the sizzling 1% is all about... Taking each day as it comes - with all it's ups, downs, curve-balls and low blows.... and then, living that life to the fullest... for there is no shame is coming out of the fires of hell, tempered by the flames, strengthened by faith and still mortal enough to melt at times. Ready to dust myself and walk again, because every step I take, would only take me further. I wear my attitude along with heart on my sleeve and have a strong sense of purposeful living. I'm not afraid to stand up & speak up fiercely for what I believe in. I truly believe that life is to be fully lived and the struggles in life are akin to the metamorphic changes in nature - all helping us to evolve into the best version of ourselves.

Leave a comment