Me: Independent, Sovereign, Free, Complete…

Standard

‘Freedom is a state of mind’ – as a yoga practitioner, I think I’ve heard this often enough and taught this in various shades of essential philosophy.

For many, if not most of us, we need to feel the true liberation in our bodies – physical liberation – from power structures and systems. Freedom is unfathomable to the many who live through the daily grind & cycle of hurt, pain, injustices, prejudices, bloodshed, terror, violence, abuse, grief, sorrow…. etc

For some blessed folks, the threshold of physical limitation has been overcome and, despite their physical pain, they go on to live in the bliss of mental liberation. Not many of us are there yet.

So, we only breathe in the air of true freedom when we’ve broken the invisible chains of visible barriers, toxic relationships and past mistakes. Sometimes, those are also visible shackles, and we may remain blind to them too, or just too numb and tired to even move them, let alone break away from.

Over the past many years, I’ve slowly inched myself away from visible chains to invisible restraints. My restraints were largely ‘for the sake of my children’. But realising that they were the ones being played as pawns was the last push needed.

The last contraction, the most painful, the birth, and the scream that accompanies the first breath, the first exhale…. and then the cord is cut.

Rebirth.

These past 2 months were my moment of rebirth. Having cut the cords that attempted to manipulate and call the shots in my life, they were rendered powerless.

One weak man who used every despicable trick to harm a woman and children and get away with it – was left powerless. No more avenues to play with innocent, trusting lives.

Last night, as I held my oldest in my arms as he battled with the tightly held emotions of years of betrayal, I knew he was making his own journey to freedom. I think I birthed him again. What else could I do but that?

So, Independence.

We breathe that breath of freshness today, my children and I, from this place of raw Independence (in body and mind).
And I, as a woman, reclaim my freedom of body, mind, spirit and resources, my agency, my sovereignty, my everything.

Happy Independence Day!

Selfie depicting what freedom in an Indian woman looks like.

About Luvena Rangel

Human being... Woman... Unapologetically Me.... Limited Edition.... 99% angel and I love what the sizzling 1% is all about... Taking each day as it comes - with all it's ups, downs, curve-balls and low blows.... and then, living that life to the fullest... for there is no shame is coming out of the fires of hell, tempered by the flames, strengthened by faith and still mortal enough to melt at times. Ready to dust myself and walk again, because every step I take, would only take me further. I wear my attitude along with heart on my sleeve and have a strong sense of purposeful living. I'm not afraid to stand up & speak up fiercely for what I believe in. I truly believe that life is to be fully lived and the struggles in life are akin to the metamorphic changes in nature - all helping us to evolve into the best version of ourselves.

Leave a comment