Not just a number

Standard

Cheerful female models smiling at camera

I met this gorgeous woman last week. I had been looking forward to meet her, having heard a little bit of her – about how deeply spiritual she was. So when I met her, I spotted her instantly and we got talking.

Some minutes into the conversation, she mentioned not having done a group yoga class ever before and sprinkled into the chat that she was not young, she was old, she was 70!

I smiled at her graceful vibrancy – she had such a calming, yet zestful charm about her – it was lovely to hear her speak.

And then I uttered a unintentional cliche, “Oh! Age is just a number…”

She paused and said, “No. Age is not just a number – all you young people feel that way and say that.”

I immediately felt appropriately chastised, yet warmed up even more to this gorgeous person in front of me who was speaking my language! I apologized for my statement knowing that I didn’t mean to offend and we continued our conversation until she turned to me and said,

“Luvena, thank for you saying what you did, because now I have my answer to that. I know you didn’t mean it that way, but it got me to think how to respond to it next time. Age is not just a number. It is a collection of all these years and experiences that bring us to this age…. and it is not a nice thing to say to someone – that age is just a number – it isn’t!”

“What would be nice for someone to say, instead, would be that they are WOW-ed by the number and all that I had experienced and that when they grew up to be 70, they would want to be like me!”

She smiled at me.

I was falling in love with this woman! She reminded me of my grandmother with her wisdom and openness and yet was so clear in her thought and what she said.

We had a few more minutes before the start of the session and I shared how, although I wasn’t 70, I could relate to it. Turning 40 was liberating, yet instantly put you into a demographic checkbox that built on stereotypes. And yet, introspection had allowed me to embrace everything that had happened in 40 years of my life to fully own who I am today.

40 whole years of living, experiencing life – sometimes half full, at other times half empty, joys, sorrows, challenges… everything – the whole gamut – that made me 40. I wouldn’t trade my experiences for anything (or maybe I’d be deeply tempted to trade in some of them!)

So yes, while my attitude matters – it has no age – but experience, well, that really counts!

She was so spot-on, this beautiful woman who came into my life last weekend to nudge me into some conscious & mindful conversation!

Age is not just a number.

And I’m going to look forward to turning 70 and 80 with just as much aplomb!

About Luvena Rangel

Human being... Woman... Unapologetically Me.... Limited Edition.... 99% angel and I love what the sizzling 1% is all about... Taking each day as it comes - with all it's ups, downs, curve-balls and low blows.... and then, living that life to the fullest... for there is no shame is coming out of the fires of hell, tempered by the flames, strengthened by faith and still mortal enough to melt at times. Ready to dust myself and walk again, because every step I take, would only take me further. I wear my attitude along with heart on my sleeve and have a strong sense of purposeful living. I'm not afraid to stand up & speak up fiercely for what I believe in. I truly believe that life is to be fully lived and the struggles in life are akin to the metamorphic changes in nature - all helping us to evolve into the best version of ourselves.

One response »

  1. Oh absolutely..when age not just turns out to be a number instead when you see it as truck loads of experience.. you would but love to get that number ticking every other year Luvena 🙂

Leave a comment